The 9 Best Ski Movies of All Time

February 8, 2011 at 10:52 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

The February 2011 issue of SKI Magazine contains a feature article on the 9 best ski movies of all time, although there’s a caveat: They acknowledge that some of their picks are legitimately great, while “others are so bad that they’re, well, kind of good.”

Their list:
DOWNHILL RACER (1969)
THE SPY WHO LOVED ME (1977)
SKI PARTY (1965)
BETTER OFF DEAD (1985)
HOT DOG…THE MOVIE (1984)
ASPEN EXTREME (1993)
DEEP AND LIGHT (1949)
THE PERFORMERS (1972)
THE BLIZZARD OF AAHHH’S (1988)

My first realization is that I don’t spend enough time watching movies. Out of this list, I’ve seen perhaps 3-and-a-half. And “The Blizzard of Aahhh’s” was a recent accident: A friend and I went to the First Annual New York City Ski Film Festival a few months ago and bought a $20 ticket to the first film on the list. For that price, we were expecting to see a first-run film with an exclusive director’s talk afterward…instead, we entered a time warp. Though “The Blizzard of Aahhh’s” helped usher in the modern era of extreme ski films (even the let’s-make-our-own-ski-movie-and-put-it-on-YouTube phenomenon can basically be traced back to this film), and build the legend of skiers like Glen Plake, my friend and I, superficial as we are, spent most of it commenting on the awesome 1980s ski fashions.

And my warm childhood recollections of “Better Off Dead” consist of me asking my parents for money by chanting, “I want my 2 dollars!

And although I’ve managed to avoid watching it even once, my sister subsists on a steady diet of “Out Cold,” and would be offended that it didn’t make this list.

(I can’t seem to find SKI Magazine’s list online, but here’s another good one from Backcountry.com’s blog. It does include “Out Cold.”)

1 Comment

  1. Blizzard of Ahhhh’s baby!!! Nothing better!


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.