Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Snow

January 18, 2010 at 9:02 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Snow

“A single snowflake showcases nature’s wonder; combined, they flaunt its fury. Snow can stop a city in its tracks, and let thrill-seekers make their own. Scientists can create individual flakes in a lab, while ski resorts make billions of them to stay in business. It wields the power of sudden death, and its demise nurtures a new season.” It’s snow!

I admit it: I’m a nerd. Sometimes, when no one else is around, I find myself watching hours of shows on the Discovery Channel, National Geographic Channel, and the History Channel. I once sat next to the guy from Mythbusters on a plane, and I told him he has the coolest job in the world. One of my favorite books as a kid was “The Way Things Work” by David Macaulay. I own the Planet Earth box set on DVD.

So, you can imagine my excitement when I discovered that there was a whole episode of Modern Marvels devoted to snow. Combining two of my greatest loves, winter and geeky television shows, this episode covers everything from how snowflakes form, to how manmade snowmaking works, to plowing, and avalanche control, and snow sculptures. In my humble opinion, it’s must-see TV. And it’s available anytime, for free, on Hulu!

Be sure to watch the whole episode, also embedded below.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about "Hulu – Modern Marvels: Snow – Watch t…", posted with vodpod

rj.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.